Non Sequitur Music

Transparent Landscapes

Composer: Lesley Sommer
Instrumentation: clarinet, percussion, harp, piano, cello
Year Composed: 1997
Duration: 17 minutes (4 movements)
  • Rental: $85.00
  • Purchase: $100.00

Program Notes:

Transparent Landscapes is a study in musical color. The first movement blurs and blends the sounds of the instruments; the second movement features virtuosic cello music; movement three treats each instrument in a soloistic fashion; and the fourth movement switches rapidly between a driving rhythmic texture and shimmering, chaotic sounds. This piece was inspired by Gyorgy Ligeti's four-movement Chamber Concerto (1970). However, one may also hear references to both medieval music (II) and blues (IV).

Non Sequitur Music Publishing
2112 Ontario Street
Bellingham, WA 98229
(360) 733-7145
Copyright © 1998; 2008, Non Sequitur Music Publishing
These pages are continually revised and updated.
Email any questions about this page to