Non Sequitur Music


Play an excerpt from about
nine minutes into verges.

Play the final minute of verges.

Both recordings are from a live performance by the Indiana University New Music Ensemble.





Composer: Bruce Hamilton
Instrumentation: flute, oboe, clarinet, piano, percussion, violin, cello
Year Composed: 1996
Duration: 12 minutes, 45 seconds
  • Rental: $95.00
  • Purchase: $120.00
Representative Performances:
  • Indiana University New Music Ensemble, Bloomington, IN (December 1997)
  • Midwest Composersí Symposium, Oberlin, OH (November 1997)
  • ALEA III, Boston University, Boston, MA (September 1997)

Program Notes:

verges, a one movement work for mixed septet, explores relationships between unison-rhythm and polyrhythm; and concepts of transition and arrival. Of the many sections in the piece, some have clear arrival points while others crossfade with the preceding section. Some sections are in a state of constant transformation themselves; this morphing quality is contrasted by very direct "cross-cutting" passages. Generally, the parts that frame the piece tend to be polyrhythmic and atmospheric while the central sections feature more cohesive textures and driving rhythms. The overall effect is of ensemble convergence, followed by several heated exchanges, and finally dissipation. Extremely demanding solo passages were written as "gifts" for the players of the original ensemble. verges was written in Bloomington, Indiana in 1996.

Non Sequitur Music Publishing
2112 Ontario Street
Bellingham, WA 98229
(360) 733-7145
Copyright © 1998; 2008, Non Sequitur Music Publishing
These pages are continually revised and updated.
Email any questions about this page to