Non Sequitur Music

borne by constellations of green birds

Play the last 50 seconds of movement
one, wrestling with gravity

Play all of movement two,
no wind at all but the storm

Play all of movement three,
flying off into the sun
These recordings are from a live performance by Todd Oxford, alto saxophone, and
Geoffrey Waite, piano.









Composer: David Heuser
Instrumentation: Alto Saxophone and Piano
Year Composed: 2006
Duration: 15 minutes
Pages (score): 40
Cost: Purchase: $20.00

i. wrestling with gravity
ii. no wind at all but the storm
iii. flying off into the sun

Sample score pages are available for this piece.
Click here for a PDF file of the first six pages of the first movement.
Click here for a PDF file of the first two pages of the second movement.
Click here for a PDF file of the first three pages of the third movemnet.

Representative Performances:

  • Todd Oxford, saxophone; Geoffrey Waite, piano, Composers Alliance of San Antonio concert, Trinity University, San Antonio, TX (April 13, 2007)
  • Chris Beaty, saxophone; Gabriel Sanchez, piano,North American Saxophone Alliance Region IV Conference, Southern Methodist University, Dallas, TX (February 24, 2007)
  • Patrick Jones, saxophone; Kristine West Denton, piano, North American Saxophone Alliance Region 8 Conference, Penn State University, University Park, PA (January 19, 2007)

Program Notes:

The music for borne by constellations of green birds was adapted from some of the movements of another work of mine, Thin Green Traces, for violin and piano. Because I wanted this work to have a different identity, especially in light of the fact I was not using all of the movements from the violin work (and altering the movements I was using), I wished to find new titles for the piece and its movements. I found inspiration in the poem Tree Full of Birds (from the book Voice/Over, 1993, West End Press) by American poet Olga Cabral, whose poems I have often set.

Non Sequitur Music Publishing
2112 Ontario Street
Bellingham, WA 98229
(360) 733-7145
Copyright © 2006; 2008, Non Sequitur Music Publishing
These pages are continually revised and updated.
Email any questions about this page to